History

The culture of eating,  its extraordinary beauty and originality, developed for centuries in Shirvan, on the territory of modern Azerbaijan. Antony Genickson, English navigator, who visited Shemakh - the capital of the ancient state of Shirvan - in the 16th century wrote that he was very impressed by the number of dishes served at the Abdullah Khan's feast that numbered a total of 250.

Natural diversity of the region and years of Silk Route passing through it predetermined the content of most beautiful and extraordinary tasting dishes.

Desire to reveal to a wider audience the treasure that the Azerbaijani cuisine is defined the concept and the name of Shirvan restaurant, operating  since 2002 , located in the heart of Moscow, a few hundred meters from the Kremlin.

Ingredients

The Geography of Azerbaijan - Caspian coast, great Kura and Araks rivers, mountains and forests, subtropics and semi desert - made ??the kitchen incredibly rich in terms of ingredients. Game, meat, fish, poultry, unique sheep and goat milk cheeses, famous Azerbaijani (Baku) vegetables and greens, fruits, nuts , chestnuts are widely used for cooking. The combination of meat and dried fruit or fruit such as cherry plum is Azerbaijani cuisine's trademark.

It's impossible to imagine cooking without typical spices both local and traditionally imported from Iran and India.

Azerbaijani cuisine widely uses saffron, cumin, fennel, turmeric, cinnamon, anise, coriander, bay leaf. Dried greens leaves - mint, dill, basil, kyavar, celery, thyme.

Without saffron is not possible to relize the preparation of more than 50 different dishes of Azerbaijani cuisine and at least 10 pastries. Not conceivable to serve bozbash or piti without dried mint and sumakh.

Cooking

If cooked properly, Azerbaijani cuisine can easily compete with any popular cuisine in the world. And this applies not only to kebab or shashlik (the word comes from the Azerbaijani shishlyk , " shish " - skewer) a variety of ways of cooking - that's what makes this kitchen truly unique.

Using various kitchen hearths - kyulfa, tendir, kura, saj and the dishes named after them, wooden and ceramic dishes for baking - these are the secrets of achieving the depth and the richness of flavors. With the help of these rare instruments, our chefs, who know everything about Azerbaijani cuisine create culinary masterpieces every day.

Come visit us, dear friends, and see for yourself. Discover the charm of Azerbaijani cuisine! Not having tasted it, you are depriving yourself of this great pleasure!

Press about us

«Our favourite Azerbaijani restaurant in Moscow».

«No every Azerbaijani restaurant can boast such a variety, believe us. We highly recommend piti and gurza.»

«If you have never been to Baku or you have but you miss it, step by this wonderful place.»

История

В Ширване, на территории современного Азербайджана, столетиями складывалась культура приема пищи, ее необычайная красота и самобытность. Английский мореплаватель Антоний Джениксон, побывавший в 16 веке в Шемахе - столице древнего государства Ширван - написал, что был сильно впечатлен, насчитав в общей сложности 250 различных блюд на застолье у Абдулла-хана.

Природное разнообразие региона и долгое время проходящий через него Великий Шелковый путь предопределили содержание красивейших и необыкновенных по вкусу блюд.

Желание открыть для широкой аудитории сокровище, которым является азербайджанская кухня, определило концепцию и название ресторана Ширван, существующего с 2002 года, расположенного в самом центре Москвы, в двухстах метрах от московского Кремля.

Ингредиенты

География Азербайджана - берега несравненного Каспия, великие Кура и Аракс, горы и леса, субтропики и полупустыни - сделали кухню невероятно богатой с точки зрения ингредиентов. Дичь, мясо, рыбы, птица, овечье и козье молоко, уникальные сыры, знаменитые азербайджанские (бакинские) овощи и зелень, фрукты, орехи, каштан широко используются для приготовления блюд. Сочетание мяса и сухофруктов или фруктов, например, алычи - визитная карточка азербайджанской кухни.

Невозможно представить приготовлению блюд без характерных пряностей как местных, так и традиционно привозимых из Ирана и Индии.  

В азербайджанской кухне широко применяется шафран, тмин, фенхель, куркума, корица, анис, кориандр, лавровый лист. Пряно-вкусовые лиственные - мята, укроп, базилик, кявар, сельдерей, чабрец.

Без шафрана не возможно представить приготовление более чем 50 различных блюд азербайджанской кухни и не менее 10 мучных изделий. Не мыслима подача пити или бозбаша без сушеной мяты и сумаха.

Приготовление

В умелых руках азербайджанская кухня может легко конкурировать с любой популярной кухней мира. И это касается не только шашлыка (происходит от азербайджанского слова шишлык, "шиш" - шампур) Разнообразие способов приготовления блюд - вот что делает эту кухню поистине уникальной. 

Использование различных кухонных очагов - кюлфа, тендир, кюра, садж, по названию которых названы и сами блюда, деревянная и глиняная посуда для запекания - секреты достижения глубины и насыщенности вкусов. С помощью этих диковинных инструментов наши повара, знающие все об азербайджанской кухне, каждый день творят кулинарные шедевры.

Приходите к нам, дорогие друзья, и убедитесь в этом сами. Откройте для себя всю прелесть азербайджанской кухни! Не вкусив её, Вы однозначно лишаете себя этого высочайшего удовольствия! 

Пресса о нас

"Наш любимый азербайжданский ресторан в Москве."

"Такое разнообразие не во всяком азербайджанском ресторане встретишь, уж поверьте. Рекомендуем гюрзу и пити."

"Если вы никогда не были в Баку или были, но вас преследует чувство ностальгии, загляните в этот волшебный ресторан. "